The Help Movie Review | SheSpeaks

Most helpful reviews

  • Pistachio Pistachio
    03.05.13

    I love this movie. The book is better, but if The Help was nominated for a Best Picture Oscar and Octavia Spencer won for Best Supporting Actress, the movie obviously wasn't as bad as I thought it was. Naturally, my favorite part of the movie was... Nope. Not gonna spoil it. But Minny Jackson is my favorite character. Emma Stone had a fantastic performance as Skeeter, and I think EVERYONE in the movie was perfect in their role. You have no idea how much I loved Jessica Chastain in this. Both the book and the movie did a wonderful job portraying such a difficult topic (race segregation and its underlying issues in 1962 Jackson, Mississippi society.) It's very touching, extremely hilarious, and profoundly powerful. Definitely a must-see, even if it's a *gasp* two-year-old movie.

  • There are currently no voted negative reviews. Be the first and upvote reviews that you think are helpful

All Reviews

Sort by
  • JoselynegGuzman09 By  JoselynegGuzman09    
    08.02.19

    Very interesting movie, and eyeopener Definitely recommend it, my best part was the one of the piece of pie.

      0

    Brand Name  *


    Enter your review comments here.  *


     
  • Mom1986 By  Mom1986    
    07.14.19

    Help,The

    I've heard good things about this movie saw clips on youtube but not the whole thing definitely on my wish list it sounds like it would be great for fans of tyler perry

      0

    Brand Name  *


    Enter your review comments here.  *


     
  • Kittykatt1976 By  Kittykatt1976    
    12.16.18

    Right place right time

    Filled with realistic problems you can relate to spot on acting with heart and compassion intelligent Octavia Spencer is great in anything she does love her work if you liked last holiday and Ray you'll love this

      0

    Brand Name  *


    Enter your review comments here.  *


     
  • MamaDeFuego By  MamaDeFuego    
    03.16.18

    Great Movie!

    I absolutely LOVED this movie. I always like movies that portray some reality about what's going on or went on. I'm pretty sure this was lighter than the truth of it though. Things were much worse in most areas. It had some just desserts in it too. I actually think I'm going to watch this again soon.

      0

    Brand Name  *


    Enter your review comments here.  *


     
  • laserpickles420 By  laserpickles420    
    02.14.18

    World's Best Movie!

    BEST MOVIE EVER. I won't spoil anything but the best part of the whole movie is when Ms Minnie gives that wicked lady (****) 2 slices of her pie and says _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _. If you haven't seen the hekp yet, you're missing out!

      0

    Brand Name  *


    Enter your review comments here.  *


     
  • Espy2187 By  Espy2187    
    07.18.17

    Its a good movie. I would not mind watching it again. It has some history and kind of an eyeopener

      0

    Brand Name  *


    Enter your review comments here.  *


     
  • jessicalynnstrom By  jessicalynnstrom    
    07.11.17

    Amazing movie! A must watch!

    I LOVE this movie! It is heartbreaking, hilarious, and it makes you evaluate your interactions with others. It is nto completely 100 like the book, but truly a fantastic film.

      0

    Brand Name  *


    Enter your review comments here.  *


     
  • Roglac195 By  Roglac195    
    05.22.17

    Wonderful

    This movie is probably one of my favorites, it's story line is just amazing and the actresses are wonderful; I would definitely recommend watching this not only is it about how people treated the help but it's also about not giving up and being the best you. I think everyone should watch this at least once in your life.

      0

    Brand Name  *


    Enter your review comments here.  *


     
  • DebEmilioSteve By  DebEmilioSteve    
    05.01.17

    Great movie! Good representation of the era and great to watch with teens. The movie is equally as good as the book!

      0

    Brand Name  *


    Enter your review comments here.  *


     
  • Awall22 By  Awall22    
    09.20.16

    This is a great movie and a great plot being told.This movie made me cry,laugh and just feel so many emotions.Its a movie that sticks with you.

      0

    Brand Name  *


    Enter your review comments here.  *