Kathryn Stockett The Help Review | SheSpeaks

Reviews & Ratings

Sort by
  • jackieo82 By  jackieo82    
    08.10.16

    Fast Read

    This is one of my favorite books. It's such a quick read, you are so engaged in the characters that you don't want to put the book down. I did feel like the ending was a little rushed but I think they might have told the author that she had to keep a page limit. I could have read another 300 pages of her writing easily.

    Was this helpful?   0
  • shimonmadelyn By  shimonmadelyn    
    08.18.15

    I enjoyed the novel very much. The plot is very interesting and highly recommend the book to people who don't mind drama and emotion.

    Was this helpful?   0
  • kfr1027 By  kfr1027    
    04.30.15

    Great book! My only complaint is that the characters are very black and white- either all good or all bad. Which makes it a little less believable because no one is that way! But otherwise, gripping story and great historical fiction.

    Was this helpful?   0
  • Betsymc1502 By  Betsymc1502    
    12.15.14

    Just got my best friend to read the book even though she had already watched the movies and she LOVED it!! It is such a great book!

    Was this helpful?   0
  • andreazachmecom By  andreazachmecom    
    12.14.14

    Great book

    Was this helpful?   0
  • christie177 By  christie177    
    12.12.14

    Really good book, and great depth to the characters.

    Was this helpful?   0
  • Vetchick831 By  Vetchick831    
    11.22.14

    I love reading this book, I might have to read it again!

    Was this helpful?   0
  • AquaSurf00 By  AquaSurf00    
    11.20.14

    This book is fantastic. It's an easy read and it will keep you entertained!

    Was this helpful?   0
  • bookmiester By  bookmiester    
    09.06.14

    This movie was as good as the reviews said it was. I rarely rent or buy a movie but I couldn't wait for this one to come to tv so I bought it. It was well worth it. It was serious and thought provoking yet funny where it needed to be. A must see.

    Was this helpful?   0
  • tknerrer By  tknerrer    
    06.11.14

    Fantastic storyline that stirred a spectrum of emotions.

    Was this helpful?   0
  • shinebright By  shinebright    
    03.20.14

    Very good. Even my teenage daughter loved it!

    Was this helpful?   0
  • rebeccalusk By  rebeccalusk    
    02.18.14

    i loved the movie really good

    Was this helpful?   0
  • Alissagal By  Alissagal    
    02.12.14

    Really good read that made a recent plane trip go very quickly. The characters were really well-written and believable. A nice mix of humor and heart-break.

    Was this helpful?   0
  • Chelseaecardwell By  Chelseaecardwell    
    10.31.13

    I heard about the movie, but wanted to read the book first. Of course, of course the book was better and the movie left out so much! It has to be a good read to keep me interested. This book was wonderful! It brought me into the world of the era and made me feel as if I was there. I had many a laugh and shock at some of actions of the characters. It's a wonderful book, but it can cause a tear here and there! The author gives such visionary detail that you can picture the scene easily. This is one of my favorites.

    Was this helpful?   0
  • trippingtiffies By  trippingtiffies    
    10.29.13

    Such a wonderful book. It really tugs at the heartstrings. If you've seen the movie but not read the book, I recommend you do so now. It really helps put the movie in perspective.

    Was this helpful?   1