St. Martin's Press Behind Closed Doors by BA Paris Review Page 4 of 6 | SheSpeaks

Reviews & Ratings

Sort by
  • ModernDayMonroe By  ModernDayMonroe    
    08.08.16

    So addicting!

    Wow! What a thrilling book! I honestly wasn't sure I'd love this book but I truly did. It started out a little slow but then it picked up to where I couldn't put it down. You think it's a great love story but it quickly turns into a real life nightmare. So many twists and turns but so exciting! I don't want to spoil it for anyone but I definitely recommend this book. I received a copy of this book from SheSpeaks for my honest review.

    Was this helpful?   0
  • foureyedgirl By  foureyedgirl    
    08.08.16

    A slow start but picks up speed

    I wasn't sure what to make of this book considering a lot of the praise compared it to Gone Girl which I had never read. As I started it I was almost immediately bored and hoped I could get through the book quickly to see what all the fuss was about. While the book definitely starts slow, as soon as it picked up I was hooked and surprised that seemingly perfect Jack Angel was even worse than I could have imagined. There were so many twists and turns, and just plain evil that you just hate Jack with every fiber. The end was great as well and a bit of a twist at the end however if you were paying attention to throughout you're not too surprised. I do wish certain elements had been described a bit more but I won't reference them as they're spoilers, but overall this was a great summer read! I received this book for free from SheSpeaks

    Was this helpful?   0
  • susanjvan By  susanjvan    
    08.08.16

    AMAZING!!!

    I love, love, love this book!!! It's so gripping and the storyline is amazing! Unfortunately, I can so see this happening in today's society and sick world. Thank you for allowing me to read it and review it! I received this book for free from SheSpeaks

    Was this helpful?   0
  • Punkierose By  Punkierose    
    08.08.16

    Didn't put it down!

    I received Behind Closed Doors by BA Paris from shespeaks for free for my review. After reading the book I can say I have found my new favorite thriller. The characters were so believable and it felt like I knew them. I love how the chapters were past and present. It was hard to lay the book down, I wanted to keep reading! The way the perfect love story turned into a nightmare keep me on the edge of my seat!! This is a must read, you won't be sorry!!

    Was this helpful?   0
  • CinnamonHollow By  CinnamonHollow     SheSpeaks Tester
    08.08.16

    I received this book for free from SheSpeaks. All opinions are my own, formed through reading the book. I love a great thriller and this was one. It kept me on the edge of my super comfy cabin chair the entire time. I stayed up pretty late reading even though we had to get up early the next morning. I didn't care. I loved it! This book certainly doesn't beat around the bush. You get a sense of dread and unease right from the beginning when Grace is describing the dinner party jack throws for new friends. There is a sense of fear and urgency in every move she makes. Jack is charming and charismatic. Grace seems like she would make a wonderful girlfriend, if you could ever get he chance to hang out with her alone. They are both extremely likable without seeming fake. That makes this story work so well. Then you get into the "meat" of the story. Let me tell you that this is NOT your typical "domestic abuse" thriller. No, no, no, this book goes beyond that. The mental games that are played in this book are incredible. Grace has very real reasons to fear for both herself and her sister, Millie. Jack is a wacko, no doubt! Because the synopsis gives a little spoiler I don't want to give too many details. I will just say that there are plenty of plot twists and this story is one that I feel is going to make one heck of a great movie! I can't wait to see it.

    Was this helpful?   0
  • duvessa By  duvessa    
    08.08.16

    Tragically intoxicating

    I just got this book free from Shespeaks.com a few days ago and I can't put it down. It is a heartwrenching but thrilling book about the perfect couple that is not as perfect as they seem. I don't want to give too much away but it is one of those books that you are either going to love or completely hate by about the third chapter. It goes back and forth between present and the past of how the couple met and what is currently going on, and it does deal with a lot of mental abuse of the wife, that is all I will say but it is a heartwrenching and yet 'can't stop reading type of book'.

    Was this helpful?   0
  • ChaoticKarma23 By  ChaoticKarma23    
    08.08.16

    Could NOT put this down!!

    I received a copy of this book free from SheSpeaks in exchange for an honest review. "Behind Closed Doors" was amazing in every way! Extremely chilling and one of the best books I have ever read, and I am an avid reader. I could NOT put this book down. There are twists and turns and tons of intrigue! Left me breathless eagerly awaiting what was going to happen next. I highly recommend this book. It was absolutely fascinating!!

    Was this helpful?   0
  • carebear712 By  carebear712    
    08.08.16

    Great book!

    I received a copy of the book Behind Closed Doors for free from SheSpeaks in exchange for my honest review. I loved this book; it was the type of book that you don't want to put down! I hardly ever get the time to read anymore but I managed to get this done in1 week because I would rather read this book than watch tv. I really liked the way it was set up to, jumping back and forth from the past to the present always kept me wanting to keep reading.

    Was this helpful?   0
  • jovimom By  jovimom    
    08.08.16

    great from start to finish

    This book was actually interesting and kept my attention. Made me want to continue reading it! I like scary suspenseful books and this one definitely peaked my interest from the beginning to end. Thank you @SheSpeaks for my free copy :)

    Was this helpful?   0
  • melinda74 By  melinda74    
    08.08.16

    A must read for summer

    Behind Closed Doors is a great book. The kind of book you do not want to put down until you have finished it. Very captivating until the very last word. I received this book for free from SheSpeaks

    Was this helpful?   0
  • nickyberry4 By  nickyberry4    
    08.08.16

    So suspenseful!!

    I read a lot. Tons of books. Usually it takes me a while to get through one though because I'm a stay at home mom but I did not want to put this book down!! It took over my life for the two days it took me to read it! Haha. Its so suspenseful. You never know what is going to happen next! I loved ever minute of it! I received my copy free from SheSpeaks. Opinion is 100% my own.

    Was this helpful?   0
  • lilluckymama By  lilluckymama    
    08.08.16

    A chlling psychological thriller that will rattle your nerves!

    Jack and Grace are the perfect couple. He is a handsome, wealthy attorney who has never lost a case and she is a beautiful, classy stay at home wife. Jack never leaves Grace's side. Nobody can talk to her on their own, because they are inseparable. Are Jack and Grace truly perfect or is something going on behind closed doors? Behind Closed Doors is gripping from the start. Grace thinks she's met the perfect man. Jack is kind, loving and attentive to her sister with downs syndrome, Millie. Millie means the world to Grace, and Jack knows that and offers to let her movie in with them as soon as she turns 18. What's so terrible about that, right??.... Grace is such a likable character- sweet and protective. And Jack, well I won't spoil that for anyone... Behind Closed Doors is riveting, captivating and edge of your seat page turning. It also is mentally torturing! I'm sure you're going to love it. And have a glass of whiskey when you read it... ;)

    Was this helpful?   0
  • Sespence311 By  Sespence311    
    08.08.16

    Great thrill read!

    This was a great psychological thriller that kept me on the edge of my seat!! It is a very gripping read that will make you want to finish the novel in one sitting! Great writing and kept me very interested!

    Was this helpful?   0
  • debbyloo By  debbyloo    
    08.08.16

    This book started off slowly. It sounded like a beautiful Love Story. It turned Dark & Evil quickly & kept me turning the pages at a fast pace. I couldn't put it down. I suggest everyone read this book it is quite suspenseful. Good to the last page!

    Was this helpful?   0
  • AngelaNicole By  AngelaNicole    
    08.08.16

    Jawdropping Terror!!!

    The name of the book was enough to peak my interest in reading which i rarely do. Once i had it in my hand, i couldn't put it down. Is there a way to read in your sleep?? If there was, i could of probably finished it in 2 hrs (it's that good) instead on 2 1/2 days. The characters in the book are very well written and the pure evil reminds me of the movies Flowers in the Attic & Sleeping with the enemy. Suspense and terror is around every corner. I received this book FREE from SheSpeaks! #BehindClosedDoors

    Was this helpful?   0