Bare Escentuals bareMinerals Matte Foundation Review Page 4 of 5 | SheSpeaks

Reviews & Ratings

Sort by
  • kamaral85 By  kamaral85    
    10.26.11

    I love using Bare Essentials. Before starting this product I used to use liquid foundation and often found myself with streaks. This product goes on evenly and I just switch my color from summer to winter and it lasts me 3-4 months.

    Was this helpful?   0
  • kfraccio By  kfraccio    
    10.26.11

    I think that BareMinerals products are fantastic...It is wonderful. Almost all makeup makes me break out with little tiny bumps on my face. Not Bare Minerals. You do need to cover spots with another product that Bare Minerals makes. Then you use a little bit of this foundation, and buff it gently into skin. I use tan all year long which is a shade darker than my skin. It is perfect every day for me. Nice to get a little natural sun protection, as I am allergic to all creams that contain SPF. I like the original better than the matte, but I use both. I probably will never use anything else. It lasts forever which makes it a fantastic value!

    Was this helpful?   1
  • tseigler By  tseigler    
    10.26.11

    I have used BE makeup for many years. I think the matte covers well and is a good look in the winter months. For me, I have combination skin. So the matte really works for the oily areas of my face. The original formula in the summer time, sometimes makes my face look too shiny in my T Zone. I love BE products. I tried the drug store liquid base for a while, when I ran out of BE. Big mistake. My face began to break out immediately. So, in the trash "True Match" has gone and I'm back to BE. Face is clear and my confidence is back. I only have one issue with BE - the colors are a little hard to match to my face. I have light skin. Not fair, but light skin. Some of the colors make me look either too pale or orange.

    Was this helpful?   0
  • frymom3 By  frymom3    
    10.26.11

    this is the best makeup i have ever used, well worth the price. It covers well without feeling caked on.

    Was this helpful?   0
  • vickeigh By  vickeigh    
    10.18.11

    I used to use BE in my early 20's (when my skin was perfect) but got tired of shine it left on my face and to be honest the mess. I tried other mineral foundations but eventually just started using Tinted Moisturizers. I am now 30 and I have suffered with cystic acne for the past 4 years. I have to be strict about my skincare regimen to avoid a massive breakout cycle. I recently decided to give BE another try since I noticed it now has a matte formula. My favorite mineral makeup has to be Laura Mercier but her products are just so expensive. The new BE matte formula is quite comparable to LM except they still can't seem to get their colors right. I find that that their shades either run too yellow or too pink..nothing neutral. I'm using Fairy Light which I have to buff and buff to make sure it doesn't look too yellow. (Medium is way too pink and med. beige is too dark) The formula covers imperfections, my skin is left with no shine and so far I haven't noticed any new breakouts. It does feel light and despite the mess, it's quick to apply. I suggest purchasing another brush and not BE's. They are soo scratchy and low quality. I personally use Alima (mineral e-tailer) long handled buki brush. I doubt I'll repurchase unless they can figure out their colors. I'll probably go back to Laura Mercier.

    Was this helpful?   0
  • pokergirl By  pokergirl    
    07.31.11

    I use this one because it gives a little more coverage than the regular . It's still so light and I love that. Hate heavy foundation and this one is not. Works good for me and I will definately continue to use.

    Was this helpful?   0
  • sephoraluver75 By  sephoraluver75    
    05.21.11

    Color matching wasn't dead on, but coverage is amazing and no break outs :) I found that if I combine two colors I get my exact match, just a pain to do.

    Was this helpful?   0
  • audm22 By  audm22    
    02.15.11

    I LOVE this stuff. It goes on smooth and helps with midday shine in the T-zone. I just wish it wasn't so expensive!

    Was this helpful?   0
  • CHYNADOLL625 By  CHYNADOLL625    
    02.15.11

    I cannot express how much I love this product, I ve always wanted to try it, and took advantage of a $20 try it to believe it starter kit on ulta.com I have oily skin and I can wear this all day without looking like im "sweating" off my make up. It delivers a flawless satiny finish it looks like my skin, not make up, and I dont even feel like I have any on! This is great! I dont think I can ever go back to liquid foundation!

    Was this helpful?   0
  • vintagepurple By  vintagepurple    
    02.13.11

    while i think this is a good product but have a medium skin tone and none of the colors matched, the darks were to dark and the mediums were to red, i wen down to the store and had them try the diffrent shades on me them selve so i wasn'tjust left to my own devises. i did use the colorless vail for a while at there sugrestion befor moving on, to a diffrent brand that was a press mineral whitch i really like becouse A) it matched and B) the press powder was alot more convenyent for carrying around.

    Was this helpful?   0
  • JessB530 By  JessB530    
    02.09.11

    HATE it. I wanted to like it, but just didn't work for me. I have sensitive/oily skin. But this just did not cover up anything and I looked the same as before I'd put it on.

    Was this helpful?   0
  • missamberly By  missamberly    
    12.18.10

    I have been using BE on and off for many years, I got the original, and when I ran out I decided to pick up the matte. Since it is winter, the matte works better for my looks. I don't mind being tan and shimmery during the summer, winter is completely different. I love this foundation! And it still lets my skin breathe.

    Was this helpful?   0
  • tesa33 By  tesa33    
    12.10.10

    i have been using the original for years and accidentally bought the matte at sephora. i thought the price had gone up and was not too happy about that! but i tried it and found that it is a better product for me. with the original, by the end of the day with my oily skin, it started to cake a little bit in spots. this one looks much better, not so shiny and yet not "matte" enough to make my skin look dry. love it!

    Was this helpful?   0
  • ashes623 By  ashes623    
    12.03.10

    i have this and although it's a litte more expensive it's worth it! my skin looks amazing when i use this and makes my skin feel really soft! deff worth the price

    Was this helpful?   0
  • sassydetails By  sassydetails    
    10.27.10

    I have been a BE user for 12 years. I am a huge advocate of BE and proudly wear the product. The MATTE foundation is my favorite so far. You get shine-free coverage all day. If you want a luminous look, go for the original. The key to using the foundation is their motto: SWIRL, TAP, BUFF. You don't need a lot of product. Put a small about of product in the lid, swirl your brush to capture the minerals (the cap has something in it that helps with warming the minerals), tap the excess and make sure that there is no visual minerals on the tip of the brush. All the goodness is in the brush! Buff! Start on the outside of your face and work in. You will want to continue to buff for two 'Happy Birthday's.' That is the best way to describe how much time you should invest in getting the right coverage. If you want more coverage, you can buff again. The key is layering and buffing-depending on how much coverage you want. If you have ever had any issues in finding the right shade you should try BE. There are 20 shades!

    Was this helpful?   0