Charlaine Harris Southern Vampire Series Books 1-8 Review Page 4 of 4 | SheSpeaks

Reviews & Ratings

Sort by
  • apreisen By  apreisen    
    08.11.10

    Charlaine Harris is a brilliant writer. I devour each new book and then wait impatiently for the next. I enjoy watching true Blood just to see how closely the actors fit the image in my mind.

    Was this helpful?   0
  • iliamcortes By  iliamcortes    
    07.14.10

    I Love the books. Every time I started one I couldn't put it down. It got to the point that when I went to the store I would just buy two or three books in the series at a time. By the way I have not wacthed any of the True Blood episodes yet I still really enjoyed the book series.

    Was this helpful?   0
  • StarKnits By  StarKnits    
    07.08.10

    I started reading these books after a friend recommended them to me. I loved them. they were a wonderful quick read and very entertaining.

    Was this helpful?   0
  • moonlightkissed By  moonlightkissed    
    06.20.10

    The HBO Series True Blood got me into the books. The only similarities are the character names. Reading the books won't spoil the story line for you.

    Was this helpful?   0
  • LoopyLooop By  LoopyLooop    
    05.19.10

    These aren't the best written books (too many Sookie outfit descriptions!) but they are really fun to read, and Harris sure knows how to create sexy male characters.

    Was this helpful?   0
  • Jade51679 By  Jade51679    
    04.14.10

    I love the books and the True Blood series. I read all the books in two weeks I can't wait for the next one.

    Was this helpful?   0
  • mizleeza By  mizleeza    
    03.03.10

    I have read all of them so far. They are very entertaining. Charlaine Harris is a good writer, she keeps your interest. Can't wait for the next one to come out. The series is just like movies based on books they are rarely as good as the book. Five stars for a fun read!

    Was this helpful?   0
  • jimach By  jimach    
    01.05.10

    I've never watched the HBO series, but I LOVE the books! I listen to them in the car while traveling for work, and sometimes I don't want to get out of the car to go into work :)

    Was this helpful?   0
  • amywa65 By  amywa65    
    12.18.09

    I am in the middle of book 9 Dead and Gone. Have really enjoyed all of the books in this series. I am watching the show on HBO, and have to keep track of what is in the books vs the show, but enjoying the show as well.

    Was this helpful?   0
  • oneangelsmiles By  oneangelsmiles    
    12.15.09

    Having read all of the books (thus far) and watched Season I & II on HBO I have to say that I love the contrast in what is written in the books and what is on the show. There is enough simularities that harken you mind back to the book and enough variance to not disappoint the Sookie Stackhouse fans. Of course it doesn't hurt that they cast the male parts to complete hotties- Eric is divine. But in honestly I haven't picked up a book written by Charlaine Harris that wasn't a good read. Check out some of her other writings.

    Was this helpful?   0
  • missingme By  missingme    
    12.07.09

    Love the books more than I do the show, mostly because I read the books way before I saw the show and because season 1 of the show focused way to much on the sex. Though there are some things I like better about book than the show, I know that they are two different mediums and take it in stride. For those of you that liked the earlier books in the series Anita Blake: Vampire Hunter will probably enjoy this. Also the other books from Charline Harris, although not about vampires, are worth a look as well.

    Was this helpful?   0
  • chicablanquita By  chicablanquita    
    11.09.09

    I love both the books and the show. I read the books before watching the show and yes, they do have differences. These are great if you enjoy reading about supernatural beings of all sorts, and the romantic idea of a human ( humans) being in the same world. There is action, drama, romance, mystery, comedy - a little something for everyone. The only problem with the books is that I read through them super fast - can't stop once I start - and then have to wait for the next one!

    Was this helpful?   0
  • moonbaby4885 By  moonbaby4885    
    11.01.09

    The books are even better than the HBO True Blood Series! Once I read the first 2 I was dying to find out what comes next. I literally read books 2-8 in two weeks. If you watched Buffy the Vampire Slayer in middle school/high school this is what you graduate to.

    Was this helpful?   0