CoverGirl Smoky Shadow Blast Shadow Stick Review Page 3 of 4 | SheSpeaks

Reviews & Ratings

Sort by
  • madexxlyn By  madexxlyn    
    07.15.10

    I sampled this product for 17 magazine. I was very excited to get the classic black smokey eye stick and tried it on immeadiatly. The color was dull and smudgey- it never settled or dried so it disapeared quickly. My stick also broke off. Great idea but needs better product!

    Was this helpful?   0
  • Aspiringauthor09 By  Aspiringauthor09    
    07.14.10

    My mom has one of these in blue. It looks okay on her. I really want to get one, but I don't know if the colors would be right for me. They look like the type of intense thats only good for the runways. I'd really like a free sample of one f these in purple, if you can, just to try it out. Thanks!

    Was this helpful?   0
  • LadyVictorie By  LadyVictorie    
    07.14.10

    I had seen the TV ads for this product and thought that it was worth a shot. I purchased the Smoky Shawdow Blast in plum, and was amazed at the ease of application. The product really did go on easily and the end result looked nice...However, this product is perfect if you only need your eye shawdow to look amazing for a short period of time (1 to 2 hours) as it creases and wears off. It also felt heavy on my eyes since I was used to using powders and this is a cream. I suppose if I was a makeup guru (which I am not) I would of known that I should of used a primer or powder on my eyes prior to applying the shawdow. I read the packaging and even watched the video on covergirl's website and never once seen any mention of having to apply anything on my eyes other then the shawdow stick..very misleading.

    Was this helpful?   0
  • HomemadeMom By  HomemadeMom    
    07.12.10

    I really liked this product! I find that if you apply powder on your lids before use that it will eliminate caking in the creases. All stick eyeshadow will do that, so that is not news. My stick did break off, but I had it screwed up too high. I really found that it easily created the smokey eye look that I had trouble achieving on my own. The round edge is for all over and the pointed edge is for lining and crease definition. I like this product is really smart and is very convenient for busy mom's. I like that the 2 colors are in one product. It's also not SO dramatic that you would only use it for evening. It just gives you a "done" look. Loved it!

    Was this helpful?   0
  • sp1904 By  sp1904    
    07.03.10

    crap.

    Was this helpful?   0
  • jahend08 By  jahend08    
    06.16.10

    I didn't like this product at all. It wears off very quickly and leaves creases. Plus the plastic caps have broken and now no longer stay on and the product itself fell off too. Overall bad product.

    Was this helpful?   0
  • LinetteF By  LinetteF    
    06.16.10

    I received the whole collection as a BzzAgent and I will say I like the colors and the ease of application (the formula). Now, the sticks are large and a little hard to use. Mine have not broken but I use an applicator to make-up for the size. I also notice that it is great if I stay indoors but once the hotter weather came, the non-crease formula began to crease. Great for Fall and Winter I guess. I would purchase some again but I take into account the price point versus the quality and I would say it's a fair quality product. The palette available is good and the combination of colors make sense when it comes to "smoky eyes". I do find that I have to go over the eye area several times to play with the intensity as some colors go on light and others seem to be heavier. For example, the green color needs several passes as it first looks yellowish while the Bronze you need to go easy with.

    Was this helpful?   0
  • danadance By  danadance    
    06.15.10

    I love this product! It goes on easily and smoothly, the colors are nice, it makes my eyelids feel smooth, and it is all-in-one! I have not had any of the problems experienced by previous posters. I will buy the product again.

    Was this helpful?   0
  • Heather_Amanda By  Heather_Amanda    
    06.15.10

    I am also a BzzAgent and was not a fan of this product. It smudged like crazy and the colour was not what I would call a "smokey eye" style. The product even broke after my first use.

    Was this helpful?   0
  • kulfi83 By  kulfi83    
    06.13.10

    excuse the typo, I meant "does not last"

    Was this helpful?   0
  • jiejie197777 By  jiejie197777    
    06.11.10

    I don't like the color combinations and I really don't like how this product applies. You end up having to get it all over your fingers when you're blending it. I'll stick to my normal shadow and brushes.

    Was this helpful?   0
  • kaykay91 By  kaykay91    
    06.09.10

    I actually liked this product. It was very quick to apply. Just 1, 2 and your good to go. The only negative thing that I have to say about this product that it is not very easy to apply for some people. Personally I had no troubles applying this product, but my friend who tried to apply it could not apply it correctly. Its quick, but it is not user-friendly for some people.

    Was this helpful?   0
  • jill1616 By  jill1616    
    06.02.10

    I didn't like it either. Didn't stay, even though I used a primer underneath. Messy, hard to get in the right eye area without going over because the product is too wide. Not good.

    Was this helpful?   0
  • magpie75 By  magpie75    
    05.31.10

    I saw an ad and thought it looked like a cool product. I was sorely disappointed. One side fell out after I tried to apply it. The product is too soft and not as easy to apply as you would think. It creased within a couple hours. And wore off rapidly. It was a great concept with poor execution.

    Was this helpful?   0
  • msbrilliantblonde By  msbrilliantblonde    
    05.29.10

    As a BzzAgent, I recently received Covergirl's new Smoky ShadowBlast eye shadow to give my opinion of it. I was so excited when I got it in the mail, it felt like Christmas! I was especially excited about the new design. It seemed like it would be so easy to use and so handy to have the dual colors all in one little "stick." But, after trying it, I was very disappointed. It was stiff and awkward to apply and didn't go on very even. It also didn't last very long, smudged easily, and it showed creases after only a little bit. So, overall, Covergirl's Smoky ShadowBlast is a great concept, but definitely falls short, so I wouldn't waste my money on it.

    Was this helpful?   0