Sara Gruen Water for Elephants | SheSpeaks

Most helpful reviews

  • Pistachio Pistachio
    04.25.13

    The movie (urgh, Robert Pattinson) kind of made me not want to read the book, to be honest with you. However, I picked the book up one day, after a couple of friends had recommended it to me. I decided that I was so bored that I thought, "Okay, you know what? Whatever. I've got time to kill anyway", so I started reading it. Water for Elephants is amazing. It's so beautiful and poignant and clever. There are several spots where I nearly cried. I had no idea the circus could be so..... ridiculous, and such an exciting life. The main character is a passionate voice, with a fully developed history, and his narration is so witty. I loved it. However, *warning there is a sex scene.* Just.... prepare yourselves. Although I'll bet this is nothing compared to 50 Shades of Grey. ;)

  • There are currently no voted negative reviews. Be the first and upvote reviews that you think are helpful

All Reviews

Sort by
  • arlette2525 By  arlette2525    
    11.08.15

    I loved this book! It was a page turner. It kept me guessing with a few surprises!

      0

    Brand Name  *


    Enter your review comments here.  *


     
  • emimorgan By  emimorgan    
    11.03.15

    book is better than the movie - i really liked this one!

      0

    Brand Name  *


    Enter your review comments here.  *


     
  • apknutson By  apknutson    
    09.01.15

    Fantastic book. The movie is also really good! I read it awhile back and would like to reread the book. Many of my friends and family read the book too!

      0

    Brand Name  *


    Enter your review comments here.  *


     
  • aquagirl45 By  aquagirl45    
    08.29.15

    Rather depressing to me because I prefer a happier or an educational book. But the characters were well developed in the book, and in the movie as well. I did enjoy the movie better, due to Robert Pattinson! But I had to put this book down for a while, due to medical issues of a family member, and after several months, I was "stirred" to continue reading to the end!

      0

    Brand Name  *


    Enter your review comments here.  *


     
  • Mujika By  Mujika    
    08.26.15

    I definitely can't put it down! It's a great story, very romantic and adorable.

      0

    Brand Name  *


    Enter your review comments here.  *


     
  • tkaspar By  tkaspar    
    08.25.15

    loved the book, way better than the movie, makes me want to join the circus

      0

    Brand Name  *


    Enter your review comments here.  *


     
  • Beautifuldisaster30 By  Beautifuldisaster30    
    08.19.15

    Awesome book, I actually read it after I seen the movie and I must say I like the book much better

      0

    Brand Name  *


    Enter your review comments here.  *


     
  • vlb0920 By  vlb0920    
    08.16.15

    In my list of Top 20! Was randomly given to me and was not sure if I would like it. I still remember it!!

      0

    Brand Name  *


    Enter your review comments here.  *


     
  • dyedblonde By  dyedblonde    
    08.11.15

    One of my favorite books of the past few years. I loved the complicated love story and seeing a glimpse of what life in the circus was like. Definitely not all fun and games and a lot of hustle. I own the book and have read it twice. I would definitely recommend it for a read.

      0

    Brand Name  *


    Enter your review comments here.  *


     
  • Mikhthr74 By  Mikhthr74    
    08.11.15

    I loved the book. Especially the ending. Elephants never forget!!! The movie, not so much, I was disappointed.

      0

    Brand Name  *


    Enter your review comments here.  *