St. Martin's Press Behind Closed Doors by BA Paris Review Page 2 of 6 | SheSpeaks

Reviews & Ratings

Sort by
  • Savannaholive By  Savannaholive    
    08.14.16

    A page turner!

    I really enjoyed this book! I found it to be thrilling and chilling. I read it long into the night, staying up much later than I should have to get to the end of the story. I found it to be an interesting story line about Jack and Grace Angel, whose twisted relationship has been expertly covered up by Jack. I was impressed by how B. A. Paris kept my emotions high throughout the book. I would recommend this book as a chilling summer read. I received a free copy of Behind Closed Doors from @SheSpeaksUp and @StMartinsPress for an unbiased review.

    Was this helpful?   0
  • brazell4496 By  brazell4496    
    08.14.16

    Loved it!

    This is a great book. Loved the characters especially Jack he had me on the edge of my seat to know he could be so evil, while in the beginning I never thought he could be. This is a must read book for sure, he though I never thought I would be able to get into it. I can say that B A Paris put a lot of effort and thought into writing this attention keeping book. I have never read a book with a character like Jack but now I can't wait to. Thank you She Speaks for letting me be a part of receiving this book I hope the author writes more stories like this one!

    Was this helpful?   0
  • kristtie By  kristtie    
    08.14.16

    Great Introduction to a New Author

    First of all I am not a fan of thrillers. I am more of a historical fiction girl. However, this was a really good book. BA Paris did a great job of holding my interest and introduced me to a new world of books. The story is of a couple who seems to be best at everything. They have a wonderful house, great friends, and money to burn. But things are not always as perfect as that. The wife, Grace, thinks that she has married the man of everyone's dreams. She soon learns that he is a wolf in sheep clothings. Pros: The author's way of making heroes out of the most unlikely people. The smooth transitions between the past and present. The feeling of wanting to know more. Cons: Some things were a little unbelievable to me. The whole scene of the hospital. I thought that doctors were required by law to investigate any accusation of abuse. Overall, it was a really great book. It is a quick read that made analyze many aspects of the modern world. It made me think of how we quest for perfection but only to learn that we have everything already. It has made me realize how easy it would be for some to just disappear with the world knowing. This is Paris's first novel and I am very interested in seeing what comes next!

    Was this helpful?   0
  • dibingolady3 By  dibingolady3    
    08.14.16

    Must Read Book

    Wow what a great book. Loved the characters especially Jack he was such a sinister one and had me on the edge of my seat to know someone could be so evil. This is a must read book it was well worth my time. I can only say that when you have a book to read as this you know that B A Paris put a lot of effort and thought into writing it. I have never read a book with a character like Jack he was from the depths of evil his portrayal in the book was right on and the way he interacted with the other characters left me with the fact that even though it was a fictional character he seemed so real. Thank you She Speaks for letting me be a part of receiving this book I hope the author has others like this in store for us the viewers.

    Was this helpful?   0
  • tammyjojack By  tammyjojack    
    08.13.16

    Finished This Book in 3 Days

    This was one of the best books I have read in a long time! I really loved it. I have been telling everyone how good it is. I was skeptical at first. Even when I started reading it I was unsure I would be able to get into it and wasn't in love with the way the author wrote in the "present" and then "past" every other chapter. However, I soon found that I was lost in the book and couldn't put it down. The fact that the story goes back and forth from present to past really helps tell the whole story and keeps the reader intrigued and wanting to get to the next chapter. It truly was a "page turner". I finished this book in 3 days! Yes, 3 days and I have 4 children and a busy schedule. I read for hours at night, because I could not put the book away. It was THAT good! The characters are interesting, the plot is great and keeps you wanting more. In the beginning I was trying to guess ahead and figure out what was coming, but I was still left in shock many times. I really hope this author keeps writing. I will be looking for her work in the future.

    Was this helpful?   0
  • sheann By  sheann    
    08.13.16

    I love it!!!

    I received this book for free from SheSpeaks. I love the book from the first chapter. I could not stop reading it. It's a very interesting book, keeps you in suspense from beginning to end. I liked how was going from present to past in each chapter. Anyways I highly recommended it.

    Was this helpful?   1
  • twinkieluv By  twinkieluv    
    08.13.16

    suspenseful

    thought it was sufficiently suspenseful and would love to see this as a miniseries or movie. ~I received this book for free from SheSpeaks.

    Was this helpful?   1
  • ms_benes By  ms_benes    
    08.12.16

    I couldn't put it down

    I didn't want to like this book, it's not the type of book I usually read. That stated, I read the entire book in a 24 hour period...I couldn't put it down. I haven't read a page-turning novel in ages. Felt good to be so totally engrossed in a book once again.

    Was this helpful?   0
  • ngdemo1 By  ngdemo1    
    08.12.16

    Run, don't walk to this book! You won't put it down!

    I was so happy to received a preview copy of this book for free from She Speaks. I absolutely LOVE these kinds of books with many twists and turns. It really keeps you guessing! When other reviewers say that it is the new Gone Girl, it really is! I liked that book and movie, also! The title, Behind Closed Doors, is also very accurate and telling as to the feel of the book. You never really know what goes on "behind closed doors". Things are not always as they appear. Read this book!

    Was this helpful?   0
  • ajann1983 By  ajann1983    
    08.11.16

    Great Read

    I really enjoyed reading this book. I love books and movies with a good twist and this was totally twisted. I like how it goes back and forth between the present and the past so you get to know more about the characters.

    Was this helpful?   0
  • Martyanlu By  Martyanlu    
    08.10.16

    Great suspensful reading

    This was such a great book! I opened the package that it arrived in and immediately started reading it. I became so involved in the story that I hated to put the book down to cook and eat dinner. After eating I continue reading until I finished the book much later that night. This was a very intense but interesting book. No one can really know what does happen "behind closed doors" in the private lives of others because one can only see what's on the surface. It's hard to believe that someone like Jack in the book could be as abusive and controlling as he was. It was a little creepy to learn all that he could and did do. At first I thought Grace, his wife, was weak but quickly realized that she was a lot stronger than she seemed. She had to be strong because she was fighting for her sister's life as well as her own. It was nice to find in the end that Grace did have a friend who helped her. The ending was a good surprise. In fact you could possibly call it "the perfect crime" too. Thanks SheSpeaks for giving me this book to read for free. I enjoyed it so much.

    Was this helpful?   0
  • tortgeorge By  tortgeorge    
    08.10.16

    A good summer read!

    I am an avid reader so I was very excited to receive this book, as I enjoy this genra especially. It was a bit slow starting off as you needed to know the characters, and there back story. It did pick up tears the middle and was easy to follow. The character development flowed nicely.. As you grew to root for some, and hate others. It was a little easy to guess the ending, that would be my only complaint. That being said, it was well written, an easy read and definitely worth the day and a half it took me to read!

    Was this helpful?   0
  • allyb123 By  allyb123    
    08.10.16

    A fast, addictive, psychological thriller

    This book is a psychological thriller that is very difficult to put down. What struck me about this book was how disturbing it was, despite the fact that it contained very little physical violence. It is, however, rampant with emotional and psychological abuse. Detailing the story of a seemingly perfect marriage between Jack and Grace Angel, the chapters of this book flash back and forth between past and present. As a reader, you quickly discover that this so-called marriage of perfection is anything but perfect. If you are looking for a psychological thriller that is a fast read, certainly give this one a look. *I received this book for free from SheSpeaks

    Was this helpful?   0
  • TRasmusan By  TRasmusan    
    08.10.16

    Great Read!

    This book is addicting. I read it through in 1 week at night. Fast read and keeps you wanting more answers. Subtle hints throughout to what is going on, keep you guessing and thinking something is off here..... All you want for Grace and Millie is the perfect man, deserving and needing. The book is written in the past and present which makes it interesting and even more addicting to get to the next present or past chapter to understand more. Gave it only 4 stars because I wanted more, wanted it to be a longer, and have a little more to it. Overall - great, fast read!

    Was this helpful?   0
  • MissCourtneyA By  MissCourtneyA    
    08.09.16

    Make sure you've got all day for this page turner!

    This book had me on the edge of my seat! I can't remember the last time I spent an entire day reading a book all the way through. The author did an amazing job at going from the past to the present while not confusing the reader. The final twist at the end was the ultimate revenge! Highly recommend this book!

    Was this helpful?   0