Barnes & Noble Nook Review Page 2 of 2 | SheSpeaks

Reviews & Ratings

Sort by
  • btrfly02 By  btrfly02    
    01.18.12

    The Nook Tablet is a really great, inexpensive Android tablet. When compared to the similarly priced Kindle Fire it starts looking even better: it has double the processing power, double the ram, and offers expandable storage memory (you can add up to 32gb). My son who previously never liked reading, now loves checking out selections in the Nook store. We also love the free reading feature that gives you an hour of free reading of any e-book while you are in any Barnes & Noble store. And if you are not afraid to root it, the Nook tablet's true capabilities can rival even the most expensive tablet brands.

    Was this helpful?   0
  • gingerbrit By  gingerbrit    
    01.18.12

    I received a Nook color in a contest. I have loaded a few books on it (I also own a Kindle which is my dedicated reader) but the kids love all the apps that you can put on the Nook. My son found a zoo app and has had a blast playing the game and adding animals to his virtual zoo. And he of course loves all the Angry Birds apps as well. Super easy to use and can do so many things.

    Was this helpful?   1
  • mom2jel By  mom2jel    
    01.17.12

    I love my Nook! I had the 3G model previously but it kept disappearing thanks to my boys that love to read. I treated myself to the Nook Color and I'm so glad I did. There are more and more apps for it and I have found that there are many more open/free wi-fi spots than I expected. One great thing I've found is that there are several magazines that if you get the print subscription, you can get the digital format subscription for free! Right now the magazines I know about that offer it are these: All You, Coastal Living, Cooking Light, Entertainment, Essence, Fortune, Golf, Health, InStyle, Money, People, People StyleWatch, Real Simple, Southern Living, Sports Illustrated, Sports Illustrated Kids. I've gotten my magazine downloaded automatically to my nook color a day or so before I get the print version in the mail! Sunset This Old House Time Time For Kids

    Was this helpful?   0
  • Wendrew By  Wendrew    
    01.14.12

    I just received my nook for Christmas. It was a surprise from my husband. I was against the idea at first. I love reading my paper backs and turning the pages. But I tried and I am liking it so far. It nice to be able to sit in bed and read read while he is sleeping, he is no longer annoyed by my book lite etc.

    Was this helpful?   1
  • aolstad By  aolstad    
    01.14.12

    I love my Nook. It's so easy to read before bed because I can turn the bedroom light off, get comfortable, and read before bed. If I fall asleep my Nook will turn off and save my page! Fantastic. It works very well as a tablet too. I am able to checkout books from my local library online and read them on the Nook. There are a ton of free books offered from Barnes and Noble. i haven't purchased a ton of apps but those I do have (Words with Friends, etc) are fun and work well. I highly recommend the Nook Color. I even purchased one for my boyfriend and he isn't even a reader!

    Was this helpful?   1
  • hipindychic19 By  hipindychic19    
    12.04.11

    I love this product my bff has one and it keep me company in labor and delivery with my son ! It rocks , you can read check your facebook , internet play games , and it even has little books that read to your kids

    Was this helpful?   0
  • REBELCHICK By  REBELCHICK    
    12.03.11

    MY HUSBAND STARTED ASKING ME WHAT I WANTED FOR CHRISTMAS BACK IN THE SUMMER & I TOLD HIM ALL I WANT IS A NOOK. I AM TIRED OF BUYING PAPER BOOKS & CARRYING THEM AROUND. HE BOUGHT ME A NOOK AS AN EARLY CHRISTMAS GIFT A COUPLE WEEKS AGO & I ABSOLUTELY LOVE IT! I HAVE DONATED ALL OF MY ACTUAL BOOKS & WILL NEVER GO BACK!

    Was this helpful?   1
  • dymytika By  dymytika    
    12.02.11

    I can't live without this gift from Christmas 2010. Easy to use, updates easily. You can download your books directly to it. Download to your computer as well. The only things I find a little hard with this product is the text that shifts from one font to another, it can be in the same book or with different books. But, if you can look past that, you will love love love, the fact that you can also shop for books with it. It is WI-FI capable and is easy to set up straight from the box.

    Was this helpful?   0
  • red_ali By  red_ali    
    12.02.11

    I am an avid reader, but with two small children and #3 on the way, I find that my trips to the library are few and far between. I love books, but find that we just don't have enough space in our house for many of them, as well as our growing brood. A good friend suggested that I check out e-readers... after looking at the basic Nook and Kindle, I decided to give the Nook Color a try. It has many of the same functionalities of a tablet (access to the internet, email, apps, games, etc.), as well as the ability to buy books, borrow books from friends and family, as well as to check out books from my local library... all for less than $150! The day it arrived and I plugged it in, I was surprised by just how fast the machine is... it is also extremely easy to transport... actually fits inside my handbag! My kids both (Daughter 7 and son 2) love it! They pull up their own stories that I have loaded for them and read to eachother... or listen to stories and play games as well. The games and "read to me" feature has been a terrific addition on the longer car journeys that we take! What more can I say? It is definitely worth it!

    Was this helpful?   0
  • LUANNE613 By  LUANNE613    
    12.01.11

    Two Christmas' ago, my husband surprised me with a nook e-reader. It was the best presant I never knew I wanted! I can carry around hundreds of 'books' to have at my beck and call. I can download free samples of any book I'm interested in so I can decide if I want to purchase it or not. I can find thousands of free books too! When in the B&N stores, there are special free selections that you can download only while there, but keep forever. I have the original nook and I'm happy with it. I know there are fancier ones out there, but I want it for reading and the original nook is perfect! I hadn't been reading as much before, but getting the nook has increased my reading 10 fold again. I suppose the only con, if you can call it that, is you can not read in the dark (ie:bed), you have to have a book light. I have a cordless, rechargable one that's excellent so it's never an issue for me. I have even seen nook covers with a light attached to it. I love my nook and highly recommend it!

    Was this helpful?   0
  • unvlmom By  unvlmom    
    12.01.11

    If you are looking a simple and easy to use e-reader I can not say enough about the Nook. I love that I can read .pdf files as well as ePub files that are available online not just from Barnes & Noble, but you can also check out books from many public libraries. As a homeschool Mom I would be lost without my Nook, we store many of our books on the Nook and then read then rather than having to print large files. Save space, paper, and time.

    Was this helpful?   0
  • Eper29 By  Eper29    
    12.01.11

    When I received the nook color from Santa last year, I wasn't sure that it was for me. I was the person who loved the feel, the smell, the look of an actual book. I was the anti-e-reader! Now, I couldn't live without it! I love that at night, if you can't sleep, you can set your font to night and it will be a black page with white letters, change the brightness, and it won't bother even the lightest sleeper. It has increased my reading ten-fold! I have always been a reader, but since the nook color, I can read anywhere, anytime. I can't say enough good things about it! Yes, you can even read it outdoors in bright sunlight, you just need to adjust the colors and brightness. The fact that you can play games and surf the net, kind of makes the laptop obsolete. I highly recommend it!

    Was this helpful?   0