Warner Brothers The Woman in Black Review | SheSpeaks

Reviews & Ratings

Sort by
  • kjhwriter By  kjhwriter    
    06.11.18

    I wanted to love it, but it was so boring!! I like these kinds of movies about ghosts and gothic stories, but this one just couldn't catch my attention. I loved the original one from the '80s too.

    Was this helpful?   0
  • barbiesbubbles By  barbiesbubbles    
    06.17.17

    Depressing and lifeless.

    I didn't make it all the way through, which made me sad -- 'cause it's Harry Potter and I love him (haha). The plot was slow, the scenery depressing and I just didn't care enough about the characters to watch it.

    Was this helpful?   0
  • LeanettaScott By  LeanettaScott    
    03.20.17

    Wow and Spoilers

    It's kind of saddens me that not a lot of people liked this movie. I thought it was really good. In my opinion English/U.K. horror movies are best. Asians have the best action films and U.S.A. do good at cartoon movies. Anyhow. I liked his movie it kept me on the edge of my seat wondering what was going to happen next and will he solve the mystery of what happened. I was plateaued when he got the Ghost Lady's son out of the bog. But I saddened when he died at the end. I thought he made everything alright when he retrieved the body. I guess she was just a miserable wretch. I also liked Part II.

    Was this helpful?   0
  • Vickyj85 By  Vickyj85    
    10.30.16

    The acting is great the quality also great however the plot no so much. If you want to jump out of your skin at times then this movie is perfect

    Was this helpful?   0
  • kayjo02 By  kayjo02    
    07.23.16

    meh

    I liked it.. didn't really scare me though.. it was overall an alright movie

    Was this helpful?   0
  • kilimarie By  kilimarie    
    11.30.15

    I didn't enjoy this film. I thought the acting was no better than a B- and the plot was hard to get into.

    Was this helpful?   0
  • lindahusker By  lindahusker    
    11.10.15

    This is a long movie and it started so slowly. But if you can be patient it is worth it, I jumped a lot, this movie was pretty scary!

    Was this helpful?   0
  • Lupitac33 By  Lupitac33    
    11.05.15

    I love horror/ paranormal movies. With that being said I really hate to say that this one was a big disappointment. My husband and I rented this movie to watch with his younger siblings and we almost dozed off on it. It could have definitely been scarier. Not the best if you really want to get scared.

    Was this helpful?   0
  • diggit02 By  diggit02    
    05.02.13

    I love horror movies and was excited about this movie . It was just ok and not really creepy at all.

    Was this helpful?   0
  • kshays86 By  kshays86    
    03.17.13

    Creepy, yeah a little, not what I expected, buzz kill ending, cedrik may have been able to move on but harry's stuck...sorry Daniel choose better.

    Was this helpful?   0
  • vickidamone By  vickidamone    
    02.18.13

    Nice and creepy, just the way you want a scary movie to be, but Daniel Radcliffe was miscast as the main character. Its too soon after the Harry Potter movies for an audience to picture him as anything else. You spend most of the movie yelling things at the screen like 'Just use your wand, Harry!!'

    Was this helpful?   0
  • summerjosephine By  summerjosephine    
    11.12.12

    I love Daniel Radcliffe and he was so perfect for this movie, but the only thing i didnt like was that it was very different from the book. But, it was very scary all the same.

    Was this helpful?   0
  • shanif2 By  shanif2    
    06.04.12

    saw it just because danial radcliffe was in it. it is a good movie if you want to be scared but not good if you want to watch a movie that makes sense and has a good storyline.

    Was this helpful?   0
  • raynekitten By  raynekitten    
    02.25.12

    So tonight I decided to head out to the theatre because I didn?t want to stay in and ended up seeing The Woman in Black. I was a bit cautious at first because I had heard a ton of people talking about how great it was, now I was one of those people who was not impressed or scared by The Ring. So hearing all the talk made me worried I wouldn't be scared or enjoy it. Then there was the Daniel Radcliffe part, where I'm not really a fan one way or another so I was worried that half the hype was on his being in the film and his affiliation to Harry Potter. I missed the first 5 minutes of the film using the bathroom and its a scary part so I was sad. The rest of the movie was jumpy and the story engaging yet slightly mysterious at points. I don't want to give away any part of the movie because not knowing is half the fun in jump out and get you type movies. The acting is fairly decent by all the actors, the scenery is well done and gives you the heebie jeebies. The characters are fun and believable. The twists and turns in the story keep you engaged. I enjoyed it far more then I thought I would. I would recommend it to anyone who likes movies like The Ring, What Lies Beneath, and The Grudge and many others in this suspenseful, jump out of your seat and scream kinda movie.

    Was this helpful?   0