Philips Wake-up Light Review | SheSpeaks

Reviews & Ratings

Sort by
  • njreese By  njreese     SheSpeaks Tester
    03.04.12

    This is a great way to waking up in the morning. I liked how simple setting this light was. I could easy set it up even without the simple instructions that were included. Unfortunately every time I used this light to wake up to it cause my cat to become more active. So instead of this nice product waking me up, I was actually getting woke up from my cat being active. Since I had to stop using it as an alarm because of my cat I decided to use the dimmer light by itself and love that part the most. I use it now in my living room to add more light to that room.

    Was this helpful?   0
  • dbvernon By  dbvernon     SheSpeaks Tester
    02.20.12

    I think this is a great innovative product to help you or your children wake up in the morning especially if you have to wake up before the sun is up. I am not a morning person at all but this product has made me feel better in the mornings, which has made it easier for me to wake up. I would definitely recommend this product. I like the different wake up features offered too.

    Was this helpful?   1
  • csherman By  csherman    
    02.08.12

    This product is AMAZING. Over the years, I have taught myself to press the snooze button, typically on my iPhone alarm. I have also mastered the touch screen with my eyes closed to shut off the snooze and continue sleeping. This Phillips Wake Up light has hopefully changed my life forever! I woke up to the sound of spa music and despite the fact I wanted to sleep in, as I gently opened my eyes, there was "sunlight" in the room and I was forced to get up. This is a great idea and I hope it continues to get me up on time. I do wish it was a bit more visually appealing (having a big white thing on your bed side table isn't the most attractive piece from an interior decorating perspective), but it does the job!

    Was this helpful?   0
  • mon1130 By  mon1130    
    01.15.12

    i've had this for 1.5 years, and absolutely love it! i'm an early riser, fitting in my workouts before the sun is up. this wake-up light helps me wake up and stay alert throughout the day. no grogginess either! i love this thing!

    Was this helpful?   0
  • jwingjr By  jwingjr     SheSpeaks Tester
    01.13.12

    I was diagnosed several years ago with depression, which becomes more debilitating during the winter months. My doctor had suggested that I invest in some type of light system similar to the Philips Wake-up Light, but I was hesitant to spend the money on something that might not work for me. I was excited to be picked to participate in this event to see if it really worked for my depression. I love it!!! I have recommended it to several of my friends and family and plan on giving one or two as presents in the upcoming months. It has truly helped my mood in a positive way. I don't jump out of bed going full speed, but I do feel more anticipation for the day ahead of me.

    Was this helpful?   0
  • jmarymov By  jmarymov     SheSpeaks Tester
    01.12.12

    I have found the Philips Wake-up Light extremely easy to use. I was able to set it up the first time and use it the following morning. I love the gradual effect of the light. I have at times woken up when it has first come on, but I can go back to sleep for those precious 30 minutes. It is not too bright right from the start. I find I am waking up more alert and ready to go using this. I would highly recommend this to anyone who struggles waking up in the dark during the winter.

    Was this helpful?   0
  • bonnietro By  bonnietro    
    01.12.12

    I haven't tried this but sounds very intresting. Would love to try it.

    Was this helpful?   0
  • Alisonn By  Alisonn     SheSpeaks Tester
    01.12.12

    I like the design and the idea of the light. Philips is a company I like too. So many features in just one lamp/light. Great idea and is useful for an alarm or reading/night light.

    Was this helpful?   0
  • GingerAlexandria By  GingerAlexandria    
    01.11.12

    I won the Philips Wake-up Light through a Twitter party. For me it has the double bonus of gradually dimming at night, and gradually brightening in the morning. Not only do I have problems waking up, but I also have problems falling asleep at night. If I find myself wide awake at 2 or 3 in the morning, I just reset the sunset function and try again. I like to use it during the day because it does provide an ample boost to the lights I already had in my room. Now I can have a radio by my bed without having to worry about an extra light. I do wake up to the birds chirping, sometimes I sleep through the light (especially if my back is to the light), but the birds non-stop chirping usually does the trick.

    Was this helpful?   0
  • CanoeAngel By  CanoeAngel    
    01.11.12

    This is a great product. I use the sleep feature at night while I'm reading to help me wind down and go to bed at a reasonable hour. The wake up portion of the light no longer wakes me up, but the birds chirping (so natural sounding, the first few mornings both my husband and I were wondering why birds were making so much noise in the winter!) wakes me. I'm not a morning person and this doesn't make me energized or jump out of bed, but it does make it feel more like I actually should be waking up (never felt that way in January in the midwest before!). I've recommended this to my SIL who works night shifts!

    Was this helpful?   0
  • lisas12 By  lisas12     SheSpeaks Tester
    01.11.12

    I have honestly only gotten to try this a handful of times with the holidays being hectic with family visiting and such. I'll definitely use it more now that things are back to a somewhat slower pace. When I did use it, I definitely noticed the gentleness with which I seemed to awaken instead of the buzzing and shock of a traditional style alarm clock. That, in itself, is a plus as we do not treat ourselves gently enough in today's society.

    Was this helpful?   0
  • jprice By  jprice     SheSpeaks Tester
    01.10.12

    The Pacific Northwest can be a very dark place, especially at this time of year. This wonder of modern technology brings more light into my life. I use the alarm consistently and have found that I am able to wake up with greater ease and in a better mood than when a sharp loud buzzing noise rings out in the dark. The unit is small enough to sit on a bedside table and I find myself using it as an ambient light in the bedroom beyond its use as an alarm clock. The same is true of the radio. I have recommended this product to many of my friends. Love it!

    Was this helpful?   0
  • mizsonya By  mizsonya     SheSpeaks Tester
    01.05.12

    This light makes a beautiful light and it is bright enough to read by and highly adjustable. However, I can't always get the light to turn on with the alarm. I haven't figured out how to get that to work consistently. The first few times it woke me 30 minutes before the alarm because I was used to a totally dark room. Now I sometimes don't get wakened by the light at all (even if it has turned on), but if it has been on I feel like I'm a little bit more awake. Its programming is not like any other clock I've ever used and I still struggle with it. When half awake in the morning I never can set the snooze, I always accidentally turn it all the way off. The chirping birds are lovely. The first time they came on, I was dreaming that I was back in childhood at my grandparents' house in the country. I truly didn't want to wake out of that dream, though. Overall, I enjoy this light/lamp/radio/alarm a lot and hope I can understand its workings a bit better.

    Was this helpful?   0
  • MovingMom By  MovingMom    
    01.05.12

    What a great way to wake up on what usually is a gray morning here in Oregon. Not only are my mornings brighter but I can actually do my nighttime reading with it. No more sleepy wake ups for me, I let the Phillips Wake Up Light get me going for the day!

    Was this helpful?   0
  • THauge By  THauge     SheSpeaks Tester
    01.04.12

    I am definitely not a morning person, and due to my wonderful friend, insomnia, I have a really hard time getting up most days. The Philips Wake-Up Light definitely made it easier for me to get up in the mornings for about the 1st week. The light definitely starting waking me up and by the time the birds starting chirping, I was awake enough to get up and start my day. Sometime during the second week, even though the light was set at the brightest level, I wouldn't wake up as easily. In fact, the light wouldn't faze me at all. The birds chirping would still wake me up at least. At this point, the light feature itself doesn't wake me at all, and the chirping birds wake me most of the time. Overall, I really like the product and am happy with it. It works wonderfully for my husband. The light wakes him every time and he is very happy with it. I probably would love this product more if I didn't struggle so much with insomnia.

    Was this helpful?   0