Disney The Great and Powerful Oz | SheSpeaks

Most helpful reviews

  • trippingtiffies trippingtiffies
    10.08.13

    I would have loved this movie much more had someone other than James Franco been cast as the Wizard. I feel like every movie he's in he's just playing James-Franco-In-A-Costume --- I never feel like he gets into character. I did enjoy the movie, even if Mila Kunis' character was pretty one-note. I mean, who goes from that sweet to that evil just like that??

  • chiefsgirl chiefsgirl
    05.11.14

    This was a let down. I prefer the original, much better.

All Reviews

Sort by
  • Kagelino By  Kagelino    
    04.02.18

    Wizard of oz

    Gives a background story about how the wicked witch became who she was

      0

    Brand Name  *


    Enter your review comments here.  *


     
  • kkeller By  kkeller    
    12.05.17

    Maybe...

    I was disappointed with this movie to be honest. I had high expectations for it because it is a Disney production and a spin-off of The Wizard of Oz. However, it just seemed a bit foolish and not really engaging.

      0

    Brand Name  *


    Enter your review comments here.  *


     
  • JazzyLykins By  JazzyLykins    
    02.12.17

    Magical

    I'm a huge fan of anything Oz so I had a high expectation going in. It was a phenomenal portrayal of each character and new ones. I loved it.

      0

    Brand Name  *


    Enter your review comments here.  *


     
  • ArianWolf By  ArianWolf    
    06.30.16

    I greatly enjoyed this movie. I thought it was a very interesting and different take on things. It was entertaining and I actually liked it more than the original Wizard of Oz.

      0

    Brand Name  *


    Enter your review comments here.  *


     
  • lololovesfilms By  lololovesfilms    
    06.08.16

    "Oz the Great and Powerful" movie review

    This movie doesn't fail where its story is concerned, it fails with the actors. James Franco is NOT, we repeat, NOT Oz. Rachel Weisz is usually always a dependable actress, but in this, there's something about her performance that's annoying, but not nearly as annoying as Mila Kunis'. UGH. Could she scream any more in this movie? It's fine to scream and yell, that's sort of the idea with a witch character, but it is possible to scream and yell without being grating, shrill, and displeasing to the ear. Visually, this is a very pretty movie with bright and lively colors throughout. That being said, the organic items in the Land of Oz, such as flowers, the monkeys, etc, look extremely digital and cartoonish, while the inorganic items, such as China Girl, and the Emerald City, look very realistic. We are disappointed in this film as avid fans of both Sam Raimi and "The Wizard of Oz." We're not sure what we expected, but this wasn't it.

      0

    Brand Name  *


    Enter your review comments here.  *


     
  • jancastro By  jancastro    
    04.12.16

    Great animation! Acting was good could be better though. Costumes we're awesome. I wouldn't buy it though but might watch if it's on tv.

      0

    Brand Name  *


    Enter your review comments here.  *


     
  • jessicady1 By  jessicady1    
    03.04.16

    I love the original wizard of oz. This movie really brings to life the life of the witches with a twist in the plot . You could not ask for a better sequel to the original. All the actors did a amazing job !

      0

    Brand Name  *


    Enter your review comments here.  *


     
  • Borgellagirl By  Borgellagirl    
    02.14.16

    me and my husband love that movie we enjoy everytime we watch , the scene when they change to black and white to the colorfull is amazing , we love the movie

      0

    Brand Name  *


    Enter your review comments here.  *


     
  • MarleeB By  MarleeB    
    01.09.16

    I love James Franco but this movie was boring and the plot was unbelievable . Good for younger kids but not interesting enough for adults

      0

    Brand Name  *


    Enter your review comments here.  *


     
  • kilimarie By  kilimarie    
    11.30.15

    It gave me a new view in the Wizard of Oz. The movie it self did not go well in my household. We were all a bit disastified and thought it was not that good.

      0

    Brand Name  *


    Enter your review comments here.  *