Did you know that typical gelatin is made with animal by-products? Boiled animal cartilage, to be precise. Cool Cups, on the other hand, are made with Carrageenan, a red-seaweed derivative that is used in many foods, including Cool Cups, as a thickening agent and binder. If you avoid gluten and enjoy vegan products, Cool Cups will do nicely. It's surprising how rubbery common gelatin feels compared to this gluten free and vegan product - now that you know WHY common gelatin is so rubbery.